Taking Out the Trash

Sandbox Writing Challenge

If you could, what parts of yourself would you throw out?

I would toss my ridiculous, undying need to be hanging on the cross for all the addicts I have loved in my lifetime.

Tears, pain, regrets & sleepless nights all gone.

Tossed in the bag and triple-tied and then out to the bin.

That would ensure there is room in order to love in a healthy way.

I cannot throw my tribe away, but need to keep them at a safe distance and allow myself to have a good life, even if they can’t or died without achieving one themselves.

 

5 thoughts on “Taking Out the Trash”

  1. It’s a very hard choice, isn’t it, to do what you need to do to take care of you, even when you know it will hurt someone in your family. I feel that grief as well… Nice job.

    Like

  2. I was right, there is a connection between us. Although it’s more than this, we’re both trying to survive the addictions of loved ones:
    “I cannot throw my tribe away, but need to keep them at a safe distance and allow myself to have a good life, even if they can’t or died without achieving one themselves.”
    You’re so right, but it’s not easy, is it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You hide your life’s work behind a lovely, cheerful smile. I expect there was a time when you lost your sense of humour, but then realised you needed it in order to survive.
    Alcoholism goes way back through the generations on my mother’s side, and she never managed to overcome her addiction to it. Two of my children have replaced alcohol with drugs, and we had a worrying time with my eldest grandson, but I think he’s going to be ok. I have four more grandchildren, and I fear for them, as well as for my own children, one of whom is so lost that only a miracle could bring her back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

