The Promise

Sandbox Writing Challenge 21 — Shhhh! It’s a secret. – http://wp.me/p5bWLb-1AW
What Have You Done That No One Knows About ?

When my brother was dying, he asked me to put his ashes in with our Dad.
I drove six hundred miles to honour that request,  only to be told that I was not allowed to do that.
The rule was two bodies per hole.
My Dad and infant son  were  already residing there.

I called back the next day, without identifying myself, and asked if I could plant a perennial at the gravesite as I lived far away and it depressed me to see the barren stones with no flowers.
Upon approval, I hastened to the greenhouse, purchased a lovely tiger lily plant and went to the cemetery.
I dug a hole, dropped my brother in, dropped the lily on top of brother and filled the hole in.
Done in under five minutes in the middle of a sunny June day, with a burial taking place five plots over to the right,  and what looked to  be a mildly intoxicated teenaged cemetery worker riding a mower to the left of me.
I have zero regrets and no shame.
In the back of my mind,  I knew I could likely cry my way out of anything serious in court if I was caught and fined.
There was also much irony as my brother had lived his life dodging the law and I knew he would be tickled at the thought that he had forced his sister to commit a criminal act in order to keep a promise.

image

3 thoughts on “The Promise”

  1. Well done you! That must have been very upsetting to be told you couldn’t fulfill your late brother’s wishes. I’m happy for you that you were able to find a way to do so 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

