Hummingbirds

As I was leaving work on Friday, I came upon a dead hummingbird laying in the parking lot. In the past, I likely would have looked, felt briefly saddened, and carried on towards to my car, with my Mother’s words in my head ” don’t you ever touch a dead bird- diseases!”

But for some reason, I stopped and really looked at this little bird, instead. It had such lovely feathers, and was such a perfect tiny size, with no injuries apparent to the naked eye.

As I looked down on it, its feathers seemed to ruffle a bit and I had to bend over to look more closely to see if it was actually dead or not. Upon further inspection and the fact that the wind blew tendrils of my hair across my cheek, I decided it was, in fact, deader than a doornail.

I stood back up and looked up into the sky, wondering how it died, as it hadn’t hit any glass or the building, and had no injuries at all. It was just this beautiful, perfect bird in the middle of a huge parking lot and I suddenly felt a realization dawning upon me that it almost looked staged or “placed” there in that strange spot.

People were walking to their cars and some glanced at me and at the bird, but kept walking. It was Friday, the sun was shining, and they had a weekend to begin.

I reached inside my purse, looking for paper or tissue or anything to use to pick the bird up and move it somewhere, as I suddenly realised I couldn’t leave it there and go home. Finding nothing in my purse as a barrier, I threw caution to the wind and picked it up in my hand. I walked toward the building and the planters which held the flowers, with the thought of placing in one of them, so it at least wouldn’t be smooshed by someone’s car, adding insult to injury.

I dug a little hole in the dirt with my hand and carefully placed the little bird in the hole, covering it with a fallen leaf from one of the plants, and then covered it with dirt.

Then I said “For you are dust and to dust you shall return.” ( It always amazes me how far you can stray from the Catholic upbringing but how quickly it all returns, without even trying to recall it.)

I drove home with my filthy and possibly diseased hands and touched all kinds of things in my car while doing so, without a care in the world. I was not upset by the encounter at all, more bewildered about how it had died, but then let it slip from my mind.

Until Saturday morning, when I opened my patio doors to go out and enjoy my coffee in my yard. On my fence was a hummingbird. Same colour. Same size.

I have never in my life encountered a hummingbird and now 2 sightings within 24 hours.

These excerpts are what I found when I searched for symbolism online:


The hummingbird symbolizes many different concepts. Because of its speed, the hummingbird is known as a messenger and stopper of time. It is also a symbol of love, joy, and beauty. The hummingbird is also able to fly backwards, teaching us that we can look back on our past. But, this bird also teaches that we must not dwell on our past; we need to move forward. When the hummingbird hovers over flowers while drinking nectar, we learn that we should savour each moment, and appreciate the things we love.

The hummingbird has powerful spiritual significance. In the Andes of South America the hummingbird is a symbol of resurrection. It seems to die on cold nights, but comes back to life again at sunrise.

Hummingbird is the creature that opens the heart. When the hurt that caused us to close our hearts gets a chance to heal, our hearts are free to open again.

With hummingbird consciousness, we learn the truth of beauty. Our life becomes a wonderland of delights in flowers, aromas and tastes. We laugh and enjoy creation, we appreciate the magic of the present moment, and the magic of being alive.

Hummingbirds teach us fierce independence. They teach us to fight in a way where no one gets hurt. They teach us courage. Having the courage to refrain from creating new trauma by communicating non-violently toward ourselves and others is an important part of healing. Recovering lost parts of ourselves enables us to become healthily independent.

It is not commonly known that the fluttering wings of the hummingbird move in the pattern of an infinity symbol – further solidifying their symbolism of eternity, continuity, and infinity.

Source: A Light in the Darkness


As an allegory, we can look at hummingbirds death-defying flight feats as a lesson that we too can maneuver in amazing ways. All humans are divinely designed. That means we have infinite capacity for greatness. Just because other birds of a feather might not move a certain way…that doesn’t mean we can’t. Dare to fly upside down. Be bold, and fly backwards. If you have a vision, risk moving outside the flock and maneuver yourself in unique ways to reach that dream of yours.

Source: Hummingbird Symbolism


The Native Symbol or Totem Hummingbird teaches you to appreciate and love the miracle of living, and to help you focus on the positivity in your life. They are messengers of peace, they heal your body and soul and they guide you through life’s challenges. Hummingbirds are very independent and seem to have an unlimited energy supply. They symbolize wonder and beauty.

A legend from the Kwakwaka’wakw says that Dzunuk’wa (the mythic guardian of the mountains and Wild Women of the Woods) loved this little bird so much, she let him nest in her hair, in return the Humming bird looked like a jewel pinned in her hair. Of all the birds, they are the most talented flyers. They can hover in one place, fly sideways, backwards and forwards. They teach us to look back to our past, but not to dwell, instead to move forward. As well the Hummingbirds tell us to savour every sweet moment as they do when hovering over each flower. Native Americans believe that it brings luck to see a Hummingbird before major events such as long hunting trips or travelling to other villages.

Source: Spirits of the West Coast


 The endings required for the new me to be free to fly are:

Past shame, hurt, resentments and old beliefs that I am not anything special and shouldn’t try to be anything special.

The new me will be taking the time to enjoy the little things in life and to smell the flowers like the  hummingbirds do, in order to find the sweetest nectar.

I will be absolutely present in my moments moving forward, and not make decisions based on memories from my past or fears for my future.

I will do the work necessary to untie old bonds that have made me feel helpless or overwhelmed or immobile in the past.

I will continue in my efforts to see past anger in others to the real issues at play and perhaps do some healing while I am at it.

I will voice my feelings with others when I feel slighted or disrespected, because to not do that, makes me hold that toxicity inside me, and contributes to mental anguish and spiritual darkness within me.

I will continue on my journey towards optimal physical health, by choosing wisely what I put into my body. It’s easier to move about quickly and in multiple directions if you aren’t flying heavy.

I will change and change and change again, depending on how I feel on any given day; I am a work in progress and you don’t get progress without change.

 

Infinity Sign Wallpaper Galaxy #476

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hummingbirds”

  1. “Hummingbird is the creature that opens the heart. When the hurt that caused us to close our hearts gets a chance to heal, our hearts are free to open again.” That is so beautiful. This is a magnificent post, hon. And I DID know that hummingbirds’ wings make the infinity symbol! Birds are special omens from God or the Universe or however you want to describe it — I like Creator — so I expect something wonderful is going to happen in your life. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

